January 24, 2013

Earlier this week I had the pleasure of presenting an illustrated talk on art and cinema called Synchronicities at the Art Gallery of Peterborough. It was really fun–thanks to everyone who came out. If you missed it–no worries–I’ll present Synchronicities Part II in Whitby on the third Thursday of March.

Since Saturday afternoon’s presentation I continue to find fascinating and relevant material that I could have included. I’d like to share my latest find that uses film as an inspiration. It’s a short film collage by the Dutch artist, Matthijs Vlot. He painstakingly sourced and pieced together various cinema snippets to recreate Lionel Ritchie’s ballad Hello 

It’s a clever project with the charm of a sentimental ransome note.

Click on the image below to play Vlot’s video. See how many of the 42 film sources you recognize. I’ve added film titles second time ’round…

Will I include this video in my next art & cinema presentation at Station Gallery on Thursday, March 21st at 7 PM? You bet!

